Keynote Speaker:

Joel Clement will present on Friday, September 20th at 7:00 PM MST in the Taylor Hall Auditorium at Western Colorado University.


Joel Clement is a Senior Fellow at the Harvard Kennedy School’s Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs. With a background in resilience, climate change adaptation, and Arctic social-ecological systems, he is conducting research and working with partners to improve the knowledge and tools necessary to reduce climate risk and increase resilience in frontline areas such as the Arctic region. Prior to joining the Harvard Belfer Center, Mr. Clement served as an executive for seven years at the US Department of the Interior.

In July 2017, he became the first public whistleblower of the Trump Administration, accusing Interior Secretary Ryan Zinke of stifling science, ignoring climate change, wasting taxpayer dollars, and risking the health and safety of Americans in the Arctic. He received the Joe A. Callaway Award for Civic Courage and resigned from public service in October of that year. Since then he has received multiple awards for ethics, courage, and his dedication to the role of science in public policy, and has testified before multiple Congressional committees on the importance of keeping politics out of science.

Before serving in the federal Government, Joel was the Conservation Science Program Officer for a private foundation where he focused on climate change adaptation strategies and landscape-scale conservation efforts from Alaska to New Mexico. Prior to his career in philanthropy, Joel spent a decade as a forest canopy ecologist, developing and contributing to research and conservation science programs in temperate and tropical ecosystems around the world. In addition to his role at Harvard, he is an Associate with the Stockholm Environment Institute and a Senior Fellow with the Union of Concerned Scientists, where he works to advance scientific integrity in the federal science enterprise.

Follow this link to view Joel’s recent testimony to the House Committee on Science, Space and Technology.